Warning: Use of undefined constant ddsg_language - assumed 'ddsg_language' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /nfs/c04/h01/mnt/164806/domains/aspp.com/html/wp-content/plugins/sitemap-generator/sitemap-generator.php on line 45
Michael Masterson Named ASPP's 2015 Picture Professional of the Year

Michael Masterson Named ASPP’s 2015 Picture Professional of the Year

Michael Masterson photo

The ASPP National Board is pleased to announce that Michael Masterson of Masterson Consulting in Los Angeles is the recipient of ASPP’s 2015 Jane Kinne Picture Professional of the Year award.


ASPP President Cecilia de Querol will present the Jane Kinne Picture Professional of the Year award to Masterson at the ASPP New York Chapter Holiday Party on December 3, 2015. Admission to the event is by RSVP only — there will be no admissions at the door.

Michael has a broad range of experience in marketing, business development, strategic planning, contact negotiations and recruiting in the photography, graphic design and publishing industries. In addition to his long experience at the Workbook and Workbookstock, Masterson owned and was creative director of his own graphic design firm for several years; has been a speaker or panelist at industry events including Seybold, PhotoPlus Expo, Visual Connections and the Picture Archive Council of America (PACA) national conference; and currently heads Masterson Consulting where he works on projects ranging from business development and sourcing talent for creative companies to promoting and marketing several important industry events. He also provides resume and professional profile services for job-seekers.

Michael was the national president of the American Society of Picture Professionals (ASPP) from 2010-2013 and is now on its Board of Trustees. He also serves on the board of the Silver Lake Neighborhood Council in his Los Angeles community. He chaired the marketing committee for the Los Angeles Conservancy, a historic preservation advocacy group, for many years and can be reached at michaeldmasterson@gmail.com.



Here’s more information about the Picture Professional of the year award celebration in New York on December 3rd.

ABOUT THE JANE KINNE PICTURE PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR AWARD: Each year the ASPP presents the Jane Kinne Picture Professional of the Year award to a deserving ASPP member. The first award was given in 2003 to (and later named for) Jane Kinne, a longtime member and a leader in the photography industry. Candidates must demonstrate one or more of the following qualities: significant contributions to photography, a single outstanding achievement, andlong‐time service to the association or its members (e.g. mentoring, networking). Award winners can be photographers, picture editors or researchers, agents, archivists or suppliers who are ASPP members in good standing.

Michael Masterson follows in the footsteps of fourteen previous Picture Professional of the Year award winners: Jane Kinne, Larry Levin, Anita Duncan, Niki Barrie, Nancy Wolff, Jerry Tavin, Danita Delimont, Barbara Smetzer, Cathy Sachs, Ed Whitley, George Sinclair, Judy and Roger Feldman, and Wendy Zieger.

Originally published on Nov 18. Revised Nov 20 & 23rd.